overheated engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Corsa D] overheated engine

Hi everyone. I'm new to this and thanks to jt999 have managed to find how to post but unfortunately I'm computer illiterate and cannot see how to reply to his email. My son has a 2010 corsa d 1.2 energy. It lostrich all of its water the other day and also most of the oil. The water was all over the engine bay and the oil on the lower half of the engine. Towe'd him to the garage who topped up the water and oil and it sounded great. They kept it to have a look and removed the thermostat and asked that I try it for a couple of days to see how it goes. I took the car for a a run for under 10 miles and the sound changed. I would describe it as possibly like running an engine without an air filter, a deeper sound. I put the car on the drive and found water over the bulkhead and battery but not a huge amount, there was no water in the bottle so I left it to cool overnight. Even after it stood all night when I opened the cap on the water bottle it was very tight and it sounded like opening a bottle of fizzy juice. It was under so much pressure. The water bubbled back into the bottle and was still almost at the same level. I also checked the oil and it was fine. I cannot understand it and the garage say that it is probably the engine broken and will need replaced. Does anyone know if this is a common thing or any ideas. Any help appreciated

Those engines don't tolerate being overheated. What has most likely happened is that the head has warped crushing the head gasket. It is repairable but the cost will be significant. The garage is probably being fair suggesting a replacement engine as it's more cost effective if done by a workshop.
    1972 Viva restoration thread - [url]http://www.thecorsa.co.uk/projects-builds/138-1972-vauxhall-viva.html#post1534[/url]

Comment

Welcome to the Forum.