Violent shaking when moving off in 1st gear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Corsa C 2000-2006] Violent shaking when moving off in 1st gear

So for the past couple of weeks I've been having a problem when pulling off in 1st gear where upon lifting the clutch up and off the bite point the front end (feels like the front end) of the car shakes really violently for a few seconds, the problem only happens in 1st gear and only within the first 10-20 minutes of driving when pulling away from standstill. I went to the shops and back earlier today with this problem, got home and tried to reproduce the problem but couldn't, it only seems to happen if the car hasn't been started for 6 hours or so. I've had a mechanic look at my clutch and he says that he can't see anything wrong with it so I'm out of ideas. This is my first car (53 reg corsa with 84k miles) so I'm pretty new to diagnosing problems. Any ideas on what this could be?

Cheers!

It is a common problem, most folk call it clutch judder. It can be caused by a number of things, but when it only happens for the first few miles of driving it's usually contamination on the clutch plate. As you use the clutch the contamination is worn off and the clutch works properly. It can be worse in cold damp conditions. Your mechanic will have been able to check other possible causes - eg loose engine mounts - but he won't have been able to inspect the clutch plate. Often a small amount of oil coming through the rear seal will get onto the plate and cause judder for a few miles. Check your oil level isn't too high just in case that's a cause. You would sometimes see a degree of oil staining present on the bottom of the oil housing if that was the case.

A lot of Corsa C's do it when the clutch plate is getting old and has done a fair mileage. They weren't the best bits of original equipment fitted by Vauxhall.