Timing Chain general info request

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Corsa C 2000-2006] Timing Chain general info request

Hi Guys. I'm a newbie here and sorry if I am duplicating any previous thread.
    I have just bought my son a 04 Corsa C 3 pot 1L petrol with a Z10XEP engine, His first car.
    In Ireland there is a huge demand for 1L cars for first time drivers as the insurance can be as much as half that of a 1.3L.
    So its really hard to get a 1L in good condition all round as most have been bashed about by learners or been used by the "Inbetweeners"
    Anyway managed to get a low mileage (75K miles) spotless body and interior, however the engine is rattling out for a chain.
    Its not burning any oil and seems very nippy for a 1L.
    Also a super little car to work on, except for those Torx/Star drives.

All threads so far say to use a genuine GM timing chain kit.

So my questions are:

Is a Febi or FAI kit any good?
    Does anyone have a link where to get a genuine GM kit at a reasonable price?
    Do I need to replace the sprockets? Can I inspect them by removing the camshaft cover first?
    I'm also going to remove the sump and cam covers, Kit that includes these?
    What is the best oil to use to keep the noise down and keep the engine clean?

Thanks All, A Super Site!

Personally I've only ever used the genuine GM kit from Autovaux - so I can't give any personal recommendation for anything else. There are some good alternatives people have used, but a lot are rubbish and will fail within six months.

Autovaux are very good, but their website is useless, so ring them for parts. Home - the phone number is on the website. Vauxhall World Parts are also good.

You can inspect the sprockets with the cam cover removed, but it's hard to tell from visual inspection. The amount of wear needed to be noisy is minimal. You must replace the sprockets and they will come with the kit.