Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [All Models] corsa 1.4 56 plate engine code p0171

HI newbie here
    i wounder if you kind people would help me with the above code problem. its a bit intermittent. but has thrown up the above code. has any one seen this before and what the cure was. Bank 1 running lean or something like that.
    we have noticed a lot of gunk in and around the filler cap and in the breather tubes from the engine to the carb etc. we have cleaned them out the best we can and changed the oil and filter but we were wondering if this gunk has got anywhere else which is causing the problem.
    Thank you very much
    chrome

Welcome. First thing to remember is that this is a feedback system so the cause is most likely elsewhere. The most usual culprits are a vacuum leak around the intake, look for signs of perished hoses or if anyone has been working on the throttle body and it's not secure. Then bad airflow measurement, check the air intake hasn't been altered (eg aftermarket filter). Check also for any sign of an exhaust leak, even a leak after the sensor can cause the emissions to be out.

Obviously make sure basic service items such as plugs and all filters are good, including particularly the fuel filter.
    1972 Viva restoration thread - http://www.thecorsa.co.uk/projects-b....html#post1534

Comment

Thanks for your help, we will order some new breather hoses and fuel filter and will try that. may i ask why there is so much gunk in the rocker cover area and the breather pipes, what could have caused this, wrong oil?

Comment

The engine design has an inherent tendency for the top end to run a bit cool, that men's that water vapour (a byproduct of combustion) condenses and creates an emulsion. That is what the gunk is. It is worse on cars used for short journeys when the engine rarely gets fully up to temperature. Change the oil every 5k will reduce the tendency.